I’ll Lern Gud L8r #WritingProblems

One class that has stuck with me throughout my college career was grammar for communication. Nothing bothers me more than people who don’t know the difference between the simple their, they’re, there, to, too, etc. It seems as though the importance of writing well has gone out the window and people aren’t taking it as seriously as they once did. Today’s social media trend of Twitter and texting has only made this issue worse. Abbreviations are far too common and it is truly amazing the way people can turn a well-written sentence into a few letters and numbers. My dad is too good at this.

photo by quas

‘Is Good Writing Officially DOA? Why Writing Remains More Important than Ever in Today’s “Twitter” Era,’ by Evan Weisel only supported my thoughts on the importance of writing today. Yes, I see how being able to write a headline in 140 characters is useful, it is also useful to be able to write these headlines in an intelligent way. In the professional world no one is going to take abbreviations and bad grammar seriously.

“For them, it’s all about schmoozing at big events. Writing? That’s no fun, right? Get over it, because being a “people person” isn’t enough. You could charm the skin off a snake and look like George Clooney or Angelina Jolie. But you still have to write to add distinguished value to your skill set.” I really liked this quote by Weisel. The social media age is currently taking over but that doesn’t mean we should throw away grammar and writing skills. They are not lost and although texting and Twitter are a gateway to bad grammar doesn’t mean they should be ignored in your professional life.

The Associate Press Stylebook is a great tool for any grammatical questions you may have. It has helped me dramatically throughout my time in the School of Journalism and Communication at the University of Oregon.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “I’ll Lern Gud L8r #WritingProblems

  1. I’d need to examine with you right here. Which just isn’t some thing I typically do! I get pleasure from reading a publish that can make persons think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  2. Love the headline. 🙂 Also very funny that your dad uses abbreviations. Nice post, Olivia. You really got at the key points of the original article and added your own voice.

  3. Really appreciate you sharing this post.Much thanks again. Great.

Leave a Reply

