A Little Help Never Hurts

Photo By: Siette

Thinking about life after college is a topic that scares me from time to time. I tend to stress about what I’m going to end up doing as a career and where I will be in life in general. Reading Six PR Starter Tips, Care of the MBTA really opened my eyes to a few steps that I should be taking in order to prepare for entering into the Public Relations industry as well as how I can become successful once I am working in PR.

I suggest you all take a read at this quick and useful article written by inkhouse, a public relations and social media agency. It will offer some clarity about the Public Relations industry, especially to any of college students getting ready to graduate, and enter in to the “real world.” And of course to anyone else wanting to work in Public Relations or is in need of a little inspiration in general.

I thought this article was really applicable because the writer uses an everyday experience such as riding the bus to explain these steps in a very simple way. I love lists because they give me a chance to gauge my progress and stay on top of things in order to be successful.

The six starter tips given in the article are have a plan, be timely and attentive, be patient, keep it interesting, build relationships, and don’t be afraid to ask for help. I really liked these tips because you can apply them to your any experience in life whether it be work related or not. I think it is important for us, me especially, to have guidelines like these. They provide a little structure to what would be an otherwise overwhelming life at times.

When I think about having a plan I find it best to keep it simple and attainable. You want to have a path that will be possible to stay on. Being timely and attentive to me means ridding your life of procrastination, which can be a difficult thing for me to do. “Patience is a virtue” has been a phrase I have heard my entire life. I can’t think of a more true statement, but I also can’t think of something that is harder to be than being patient. Definitely something I need to work on. It is easy to get caught up in a routine or to just go through the motions but keeping things interesting is an important concept. It will allow you to stay interested rather than become bored with your life.  You never know what someone can bring to the table unless you talk to them. The more people you know and can come into contact with the more you are going to benefit. Building relationships, what a tough thing to do sometimes. I know pride can get in the way but asking for help is one of the best things you can do for yourself. Support from someone else can be the boost you need in order to take steps forward.

I feel pretty blind when I think about things I need to do if I want to be successful in PR so this article gave me a breath of fresh air.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

